Jonathan Livingston Seagull

It is a book of substance; a book of meaning; a book for life. That’s all I can say for Jonathan Livingston Seagull, one of the best books I have ever read; a gifted writer, a gifted story and a gifted truth; what a rare combination. The book was one of the bestsellers and this by any means and in no ways, a compensation reward for the story and the meaning behind it. The success of the writer and the book will only be accomplished only and only if a few could find the real Jonathan within them.

The book is a fiction story by Richard Bach, one of the great writers, world has ever produced. The first time I read the book, it started a thought process in me; it made me think beyond my life style, my daily routines. It made me think the purpose of this life. It made me realize that there is so much to live, so much to find, so much to explore. The book added lots of efficacious and dynamic words in my vocabulary. Some of them being:

Experiment, Explore, Experience – The perfect E’s
Practice, Perfection – Best P’s
“The more you learn, the more you grow, the more you grow, the more is the joy in living, the more is the joy, the perfect your life is”.

It really helps us visualize living a perfect and immortal life.

Some of the great punches from the book which inspired me most are given below:

“I don’t mind being bone and feathers, mom. I just want to know what I can do in the air and what I can’t, that’s all. I just want to know.”

“His thought was triumph. Terminal velocity! A seagull at two hundred fourteen miles per hour! It was breakthrough, the greatest single moment in the history of the Flock, and in that moment a new age opened for Jonathan Gull.”

“Do you have any idea how many lives we must have gone through before we even got the first idea that there is more to life than eating, or fighting, or power in the flock?”

“Heaven is not a place, and it is not a time, Heaven is being perfect.”

The book has still occupied us in thousands of shades of our lives and will keep us occupied eternally.

http://books.google.com/books?id=C19aAAAAMAAJ&q=jonathan+livingston+seagull&dq=jonathan+livingston+seagull&pgis=1

About mohitvalecha

Mohit is an optimistic day-dreamer and romancer who gave up his 11 year old software profession experience to build his dream in Creative Writing. He writes blogs, articles, reviews, children stories, fiction and non-fiction spirituality books to promote reading and provide a meaning to people’s lives. If he is not reading or writing, you would find him making mock, cock and all other kinds of tails or playing with his charming son Krishna. His life is a love triangle with three corners being Devi, Krishna and his Guru, Sirshree. Mohit’s passion is Meditation, Heal and Help people and play “Bhi ta!” (Another form of Hide-&-Seek) with Krishna.
This entry was posted in See all Experiences by Mohit, See all Philosophy by Mohit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jonathan Livingston Seagull

  1. Devi says:

    This is one of my favourite books. It really inspires a lot. I really liked these words in the book n its good u put them in ur blog.

    “I don’t mind being bone and feathers, mom. I just want to know what I can do in the air and what I can’t, that’s all. I just want to know.”

    Usually we compete with others, What we should do is test our own limits. If we focus on our own abilities and see what we can achieve, then it would really help us to grow in a better way.

    One more nice blog from you, Mohit, keep writing 🙂

  2. mohitvalecha says:

    Thanks Devi, the book is really a masterpiece. thanks for commenting, cheers reading!!

  3. saracallow says:

    I was lucky enough to read Jonathan Livingston Seagull in elementary school. I think I checked the book out more than any other. I loved to see the way that Jonathan could buck the established expectations and ask more out of life, out of himself. What an inspiring story. As an adult, I can say that I definitely adopted some of the philosophy in the story for use in my own life.

  4. mohitvalecha says:

    @saracallow:

    Thanks Sara. It is a wonderful book. Would recommend you reading my new post “Inquiry”. Thanks again.

    Mohit

  5. Excelisor ! Excelisor !

    Spread your wings and fly higher than the higher mountain – Jonathan Seagull sure is an inspiring masterpiece !

  6. joann says:

    I red it 20 years ago but I jusi got it. I am it now.
    http://blog.nationmultimedia.com/1204/2009/10/01/entry-1

  7. Wow! This can be 1 of the top blogs I’ve actually arrive throughout on this subject. Merely Magnificent

  8. Pingback: 2010 in review « Mohit Valecha Shares..

Leave a comment