Do you really own anything??

Once there was a Millionaire who always boasted of his money. And there was a saint who had nothing. He worn torn clothes and roamed in his spiritual ecstasy.

Once the Millionaire and the saint happened to meet in a dry afternoon. The saint had heard about Millionaire’s pride for his money. The saint decided to teach him a lesson for life.

Saint: “I have heard that you own millions of money?”

Millionaire: In pompous smile on his face, “Yes, I do. I own millions.”

Saint: “Ok. Can you lend me a million out of your millions?”

Millionaire: “Yes, indeed. Anyways I donate a lot for spiritual missions and monasteries.”

Saint: “Hmm, but I want it now?”

Millionaire: “You must be kidding. How can I give you now? I cannot carry that much money in my pocket. I need to go to a bank or I can write you a cheque.”

Saint: “I do not need a cheque and anyways I want it now. Ok, leave that aside. What if I destroy all the banks in the city? Can you still give me the money I need?” Saint said with a blissful smile on his lips.

Millionaire: “Oh….is that. In that case I can go to a bank in another city and provide you with the money you want.”

Saint: “Hmm…reasonable. What if I destroy all the banks in the country?”

Millionaire: “Hmmm….seems you are a magician. Anyways I can always fly to another country and get you the money.”

Saint: “Ok…thoughtful enough. What if I destroy all the banks, government repositories in the world?”

Millionaire: “That’s too much,” said Millionaire in sheer surprise. “Well in that case I cannot give you the money.”

Saint: “But you said you can and you owned a lot of money, dint you?”

Millionaire: “Yes I do, only if all the money repositories are not destroyed.”

Saint: “Well, in that case do you really own it? You are dependent on banks to store your money?”

Millionaire: “Yes, it is true”, said Millionaire in a dull voice.

Saint: “Tell me something you really own?”

Millionaire: “I own my body. I can provide you with my body,” said Millionaire after thinking for a while.

Saint: “What if I destroy your body? It is anyway going to get degraded and die finally. Do you really own anything?”

Millionaire: “Hmm…Do I really own anything?” asked Millionaire to himself in an almost inaudible voice.

Saint: “Yes, you do own something which you can offer me, but before that you should find out what do you own?”

Millionaire: “Ahh…..I do own something!” Millionaire jumped off in a delight as if he found another millions of money. But, asked Millionaire, “What is that I own?”

Saint: “Find it out child. This is all I do!” said the saint and disappeared.

About mohitvalecha

Mohit is an optimistic day-dreamer and romancer who gave up his 11 year old software profession experience to build his dream in Creative Writing. He writes blogs, articles, reviews, children stories, fiction and non-fiction spirituality books to promote reading and provide a meaning to people’s lives. If he is not reading or writing, you would find him making mock, cock and all other kinds of tails or playing with his charming son Krishna. His life is a love triangle with three corners being Devi, Krishna and his Guru, Sirshree. Mohit’s passion is Meditation, Heal and Help people and play “Bhi ta!” (Another form of Hide-&-Seek) with Krishna.
This entry was posted in See all Philosophy by Mohit, See all Stories by Mohit and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you really own anything??

  1. Devi says:

    Hi Mohit,
    I must really say that you have a good way of describing the message that you want to convey. Well thought. Keep it up. Do write some more short stories.
    This article started a thought process in me. Nice one.
    ~ Devi

  2. mohitvalecha says:

    Thanks a lot devi, i will keep writing…I am trying to write more short stories now..hope you all will like them..love u all
    Mohit

Leave a Reply

