Train to London

Ideally this post should’ve come before the London Book Fair post. But that’s not too important. The important part is sharing and thoughts should be shared as they come through the heart and not literally, as they fall on the scale of time, suggested by the definition of a blog. Check out more pictures for London Book Fair here.

We (myself, my beautiful wife, Devi and my little prince, Krishna) were on the VirginEastCoast train to London heading towards visiting one of the most important and global events in the book industry – London Book Fair. The event is organised once every year and is said to host a meeting platform for some of the finest craftsmen in the industry.

It was all random and we were not even planned. No formals, no prior appointments, no checklists, last minute bookings, and only a handful of printouts. Somehow we managed to pack the bags and invested last couple of days to get ready. We were not even sure whether authors had a takeaway or not.

The train was boarded on 12th of April 2016, the first inauguration day for the book fair. The event dates were 12th, 13th and 14th and we were already missing out on the first day.

Then, something wonderful happened on the train that lifted our hopes and spirit. Krishna was busy checking out the running landscapes and colourful horses, out of the train window while Devi was busy taking care of him. I happen to sit across a very old couple and then immediately the old lady moved to another locations saying that she wanted to read. Perhaps she needed more silence than Krishna would ever allow her. Then I was left alone opposite the old guy. He had an aura of rich experience around him and wore a hippie and typical colourful woollen english cap with thick woven woollen threads hanging on each side of the head. He wore a fancy colourful woollen sweater and had a matching jacket and a mountaineer bag (he told me later).

After a while, he asked me, “How old is he?” pointing towards Krishna.

“Two and a half,” I replied and added that “He is very naughty.”

“Well, we are all naughty at that age,” were his words.

The words amused me and then while turning the pages of the newspaper, he asked, “What do you do?”

“I write.”

My reply brought a new smile to his face and his expressions  changed completely in a positive way. He put down his newspaper and became more interested in the conversation.

“Wow,” he said. “Let me buy you a coffee.”

“I write too.”

“What kind of books do you write?” He asked.

“Children books,” I replied.

“Well I write Medical textbooks for Africa. Procedures you know.”

“That’s wonderful,” I said.

Then the stewardess passed by and he actually bought me a coffee.

“Black without milk, without sugar please,” I said.

And, then as they say, a lot can happen over coffee. He played with Krishna, shared half of his ham sandwich, and showed his antique red battery torch that he hung around his neck.

I gifted him a “Thought Revolution” book by Sirshree and shared my gmail id. We also talked about the new movie thats playing in cinemas – “The man who knew Infinity” which is about a Madras maths genius, Ramanujan and Hardy, the mathematician. He took a note of the Hardy-Ramanujan number i.e. 1729 in his handy notebook and black gel pen.

I told him how I was looking for publishers with 6 stories ready and really interested to get my books on the market and looking towards London Book Fair to help me achieve this.

“May you get lots of contracts.” He said in a confident voice.

The voice had a magical effect on me and I had the feeling that I had already sold a lot of books.

“Maurice King,” he said, “Pleased to meet you.”

Then we had reached London Kings Cross and he departed saying, “Meet you in heaven.”

I requested for a picture with him and he allowed.

Maurice King Maurice King, Author

This incident gave me an outburst of fresh energy that helped me survive the book fair tour and transform it into a huge success.

Things just happen you know, there is no why or when to it. Look out!

Thought Revolution

About mohitvalecha

Mohit is an optimistic day-dreamer and romancer who gave up his 11 year old software profession experience to build his dream in Creative Writing. He writes blogs, articles, reviews, children stories, fiction and non-fiction spirituality books to promote reading and provide a meaning to people’s lives. If he is not reading or writing, you would find him making mock, cock and all other kinds of tails or playing with his charming son Krishna. His life is a love triangle with three corners being Devi, Krishna and his Guru, Sirshree. Mohit’s passion is Meditation, Heal and Help people and play “Bhi ta!” (Another form of Hide-&-Seek) with Krishna.
This entry was posted in See all Experiences by Mohit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

