Achieving Excellence of Mind– A review of “Maansik Dakshata”

Today I am going to tell you about one of my favorite books in Hindi language which has completely transformed the way I think and use my mind. It’s a priceless book offered at a low price. Do not be quick to judge it by its price or cover. You need to read it, think and apply it in order to be benefited by this tree of wisdom.

It was first published long ago and hadn’t reached the masses. Then after a period of time considering its importance to reach more and more seekers, it was re-published by one of the leading publishers of India in the Spiritual genre – Geeta Press, Gorakhpur. “Geeta Press” is a household name when it comes to the religious books in India. They are a legendary publishing trust, headquartered in the city of Baba Gorakhnath and print all kinds of books associated with all the Gods and Goddesses of Hindu Dharma. They started in early 1900’s, before India had got its freedom and their main objective was to spread the principles of Sanatana Dharma (Hindu religion) to general public by publishing Bhagwad-Gita, Ramayana, Vedas, Upanishads, Puranas, Discourses of eminent saints, Character-building books & magazines and all kinds of Kandas  and Sanhitas at highly subsidized prices. Basically you could not visit a religious city in India without seeing a book or two of them.

Let us now talk about the book that is today’s topic. This simple and effective mind handbook is popularly known as “Maansik Dakshata”. It is authored by Sri Rajendra Bihari lal ji, a venerable figure in the field of psychology. The masterpiece contains 256 pages of fresh pearls of wisdom scattered across 13 chapters that provide you with an evolutionary ladder to progress and transform your life for good by teaching you techniques to effectively use and train your mind. It is an excellent guide that has inspired millions of people to learn and progress in multitudes of directions by strengthening their mental ability and effectively applying it.

The title of book, when translated in English, might mean Mind Strength or Mental Ability or Excellence of Mind. It keeps the truth of the title by successively unveiling the secrets buried within our minds. I believe it to be one of the finest pieces in this domain.

I first stumbled upon it on a train journey way before 25 silver years during 90’s when I was doing my schooling. One of my acquaintances who accompanied me on the journey had bought it on the Gorakhpur railway platform on the mid-way journey since the title grabbed his attention. He bought it but didn’t bother to read it immediately as he might have saved that activity for later. Thanks to him – it lay freely on the berth in our coach, waiting to be read and I happened to catch a glance. I borrowed it and started reading immediately and got lost in that beautiful garden of psychology as the author had literally called it. I curiously rummaged through the pages enjoying my happy time but unfortunately the journey was about to finish. I could only read the first 20 pages of that compelling book in the remaining journey but it remained in my mind thereafter. I returned that copy to the proud owner when the destination came and thanked him. I had finished reading it when I had bought a copy for myself some time later. I loved the book and it became a part of my personal collection and raised its way up on my favorites.

Very recently I had a provoking thought which made me read it again. When I made the decision to re-read it, I ensured to devote much more time in this visit so that I could understand and apply it in my life. I picked up the book during March and spent about a full month reading it devoting four to six hours every day. Surprised I was by the amount of wisdom it hid within. I pledged to go through it, page by page and line by line and contemplate fiercely on each aspect using a diary and pen. I made notes of my own based on the teachings shared in the book and experiences of my own which helped me understand the topics from a deeper perspective.

The book narrates all the important topics related to the mind- it’s functioning and application in various sectors of life maintaining a simple language. It starts with a moderate pace and progresses its way up to the deeper topics. All concepts are backed with hundreds of proven and published scientific case studies conducted across all the leading universities and research organizations in the globe. Simple daily life analogies have been used to explain the difficult topics that make them easy to relate to. It is a wide canvas that explores various unique shades of the mind such as positive thinking, creative reading, memory-power, sub-conscious mind, effective -reading, auto-hypnosis, second-wave of energy and so on. A lot of self-development techniques are hidden and waiting to be learned and mastered within this deep ocean of wisdom. It is a concise testament of inner power that needs to be elaborately embraced.

What this book can do for you depends on how deeply you are intent on reading it. Let us now explore its purpose. What makes you think you should read this book. Ask yourself the questions that follow –

  • What is the mind and how does it work?
  • Is my mind my friend?
  • Have I aspired for a powerful mind?
  • What is effective thinking?
  • How do thinkers think?
  • What is the power of positive thinking?
  • How to read effectively? What is my perpetual span of reading?
  • What is memory? Can i increase my memory power?
  • What is short-term and long-term memory?
  • Can I read creatively?
  • Do I want to succeed in Life?
  • Do I believe that my mind is not capable of handling the challenges in life?
  • Do I want to enhance my mental abilities?
  • Do I want to become an effective reader, writer or orator?

Do they sound familiar to you? If any of these questions seem to apply or ring a bell then you should give it a read. It is surely going to take you to the next level.

It is a wonderful gift to the entire mankind and especially to those people who are striving to succeed in this world. Success is a function of a healthy mind in a healthy body in a perfect harmony. Mind is a magnificent gift that you’ve received from nature which when trained properly, can help you achieve almost anything that you could ever imagine.

About mohitvalecha

Mohit is an optimistic day-dreamer and romancer who gave up his 11 year old software profession experience to build his dream in Creative Writing. He writes blogs, articles, reviews, children stories, fiction and non-fiction spirituality books to promote reading and provide a meaning to people’s lives. If he is not reading or writing, you would find him making mock, cock and all other kinds of tails or playing with his charming son Krishna. His life is a love triangle with three corners being Devi, Krishna and his Guru, Sirshree. Mohit’s passion is Meditation, Heal and Help people and play “Bhi ta!” (Another form of Hide-&-Seek) with Krishna.
This entry was posted in See all Reviews by Mohit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Achieving Excellence of Mind– A review of “Maansik Dakshata”

  1. deVi says:

    Mind is a ery diffiCult entity. Good reView 🙂

  2. Pingback: Reading Styles and 21 Tips to Gain Maximum from Reading | Love is in the air …

  3. Pingback: The art of Memorizing and 21 Tips to Boost your Memory Power | Love is in the air …

Leave a Reply

