One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

Ha! Words don’t fit in here. They really don’t. You need books and months to talk about this legendary history cinema by director Milos Forman, produced in 1975. One of the best movies, ever produced, directed and thrillingly and livingly enacted with leading roles played by Jack Nicholson and Louise Fletcher.

The movie stands at number 7 under IMDB Top 250 movies list on the IMDB site. IMDB is one of the most trusted names online, when it comes to Big Cinema. It has a big database of you-name-anything of movies. The movie stands at 8.9 out of 10 i.e. 8.9/10 rating on IMDB, voted by movie fans.

It created a breakthrough by winning 5 Oscars: Best Director, Best Picture, Best Writing and Screenplay, Best Actor in a Leading Role and Best Actress in a Leading Role. Apart from a landslide of Academy awards, the movie managed to win many other Gold and silver ladies(trophies).

Jack Nicholson played the male leading role and Louise Fletcher, the leading female. Jack Nicholson, the father of Hollywood, “The Shining” star. “Chinatown”, “As good as it gets” and there are much more feathers in the superstar’s cap than we can count. Jack, the legendary, multi variety star, has delivered some of the finest performances for Hollywood Movie Industry. “The Shining” changed the entire face of the Horror Genre.

R.P. McMurphy (Randell. P. McMurphy), the character played by Jack Nicholson in the movie, a character of bold sanity among insane ones. A daring, living, criminal record con man who brings a mental asylum to life and plays hide and seek with the dictator Nurse Ratched, played by Louise Fletcher.

He lives it all in that Drama of 2.15 hours; Laughter, Colors, Friendship and LIFE. The movie gets better every time you watch it. Like one of those immortal epics, where heroes never die in our hearts. They say so much in a small reel that we could ever understand in real.

I have watched this one for more than 10 times and I still say, I am not done with it yet. May be, I would never. Something called L.I.F.E, a Cuckoo’s Nest, literally. Flying part, I guess, is for us to figure out.

Some of the best dialogues from the movie:

$$Goddamn, boy, you’re as big as a mountain! Looks like you might have played some football.

$$This is not a dime, Martini. This is a dime. If you break it in half… …you don’t get two nickels, you get shit. Try and smoke it. You understand?

$$They were giving me 10,000 watts a day, you know, and I’m… …hot to trot. The next woman who takes me on will light up like a pinball machine… …and pay off in silver dollars!

$$Yeah, but I don’t like the idea of taking something if I don’t know what it is. Don’t get upset, Mr. McMurphy. I’m not getting upset, Miss Pilbow. It’s just that I don’t want anyone to try and slip me saltpeter. You know what I mean?

About mohitvalecha

Mohit is an optimistic day-dreamer and romancer who gave up his 11 year old software profession experience to build his dream in Creative Writing. He writes blogs, articles, reviews, children stories, fiction and non-fiction spirituality books to promote reading and provide a meaning to people’s lives. If he is not reading or writing, you would find him making mock, cock and all other kinds of tails or playing with his charming son Krishna. His life is a love triangle with three corners being Devi, Krishna and his Guru, Sirshree. Mohit’s passion is Meditation, Heal and Help people and play “Bhi ta!” (Another form of Hide-&-Seek) with Krishna.
This entry was posted in See all Reviews by Mohit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

  1. I signed up to your blog rss feed. Will you post more about the subject?

  2. MP3 music says:

    I wanted to thank you for this interesting I definitely loved every little bit of it. I have you bookmarked your site to check out the latest stuff you post.

  3. Great post, thanks. I really love it.

  4. ^^ yeh that is so true. I have to agree with you

  5. I’m just creating a short post to state I liked your article and enjoyed reading it. I’ve bookmarked your site in order to be notified of new content. Thanks

  6. Thanks very much for this awesome Article. Nice topic to talk about on my Blog. I may set a bookmark to your site.

  7. Awsome post and right to the point. I am not sure if this is actually the best place to ask but do you folks have any ideea where to hire some professional writers? Thanks in advance 🙂

  8. Igre Igre says:

    Of course, what a magnificent blog and instructive posts, I will bookmark your site.All the Best!

  9. Larry Gore says:

    When I saw this was like wow. Thanks for putting your effort in publishing this blog.

  10. Definitely, what a splendid blog and instructive posts, I will bookmark your site.Have an awsome day!

  11. Pingback: 2010 in review « Mohit Valecha Shares..

  12. Joey McGee says:

    It really a great post. It not merely make me realize the charmity regarding words and pictures but additionally help me to understand a lot. Thanks very much! Getting excited about see more unsettled masterpiece from you when you need it. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

