A Diplomatic side of Diplomacy!

Yesterday evening I was sharing a chat with my friend. We were discussing about something. She was asking questions and as usual I was replying. I was the interviewee. Normally boys are always interviewee. They are supposed to answer everything in this world and they are assumed to know reasons for everything happening around. Sometimes, even for things like, why is sky blue? Why fishes cannot fly? and stuff like that. I hope you agree with me. “Stop giving diplomatic answers,” she said suddenly.

Anyways, this can go on and on. Diplomacy can be a real fun. Diplomacy can be used in various ways and it can be a real point of humour. By various dictionaries in the world, diplomacy has various meanings. Some of them include, “the conduct by government officials of negotiations and other relations between nations”, “the art or science of conducting such negotiations”, “skill in managing negotiations, handling people” and many more. However I have defined my own meaning for diplomacy. Whenever you answer Yes/No Questions in anything except and Yes and No is called Diplomacy. Whenever someone throws up some yes/no or close ended questions on you and you start answering in stories, is diplomacy. Some examples given below might be helpful. Diplomacy can be of two kinds: Direct and Indirect. Direct diplomacy is something when you know you are answering stories for something which can be answered in one word! And indirect is when you are again answering stories for something really small but you are ignorant of this (mistakenly or drunk, who knows!).

Lets us explore some examples. “Did you get drunk in the party last night?” She asked. This is a very often question fired at almost all the boys as soon as they end up enjoying a party. Now the boy is in a big trouble. This is a Yes/No Question. It can only be answered either in Yes or No. The boy had drunk, so he cannot answer “No”, He knows, he will be splashed with one hundred more questions if he answers “No”, also he does not want to admit a lie. If he says, “Yes”, she would feel bad. This time, there would not be any more questions but a deep silence as if somebody just died. It might even take months to break that silence. The poor boy has no other way except to answer in stories, i.e. being diplomatic, direct or indirect. His answers may go something like these:

“Huh…I was not at all drinking. Suddenly somebody offered me a glass. I just had a sip. Then I regretted that you might feel bad. I did not drink consciously. Even just before leaving the party, some friend’s friend again offered a glass. He was really feeling bad if I did not take his offer. So, took one more sip. That’s all. I did not drink. Trust me………..”

Or something like this:

“They were all cheering with glasses, and a friend offered me one. I had thought that I would not drink, but to company them, I had to hold one. Then, I did not realised that while talking I had sipped half of it. But as soon as I realised, I gave that back to the waiter; though he was showing an unpleasant kind of look. So, I did not drink, you know. Not at all, half a glass because I was not aware. Nothing else. I hope you understand. Hmmm, I am still feeling bad about that………”

Check out any minister speaking on any news channel. Notice how de they answer Yes/No Questions. Some minister was asked, “Did you raise the nuclear deal matter during your visit to Pakistan?”

He seems to answer everything except Yes/No.

“Pakistan is a developing country”, He says. “They really support us sometimes. But there are times when they try to take over us. Mostly I am not against their strategy. Their Nuclear developments are going great. Soon they might start competing with us in the war strategies. Nuclear deal is to be finalized soon. Lots of discussions happened, ‘nuclear deal matter’ was discussed, but I did not see any arguments from their side…Huh, They appreciated Sachin’s performance in the last Indo-Pak friendly match. They are soon coming up with more approaches to increase friendship and respect for each other.”, and he goes on and on and on ………………….

About mohitvalecha

Mohit is an optimistic day-dreamer and romancer who gave up his 11 year old software profession experience to build his dream in Creative Writing. He writes blogs, articles, reviews, children stories, fiction and non-fiction spirituality books to promote reading and provide a meaning to people’s lives. If he is not reading or writing, you would find him making mock, cock and all other kinds of tails or playing with his charming son Krishna. His life is a love triangle with three corners being Devi, Krishna and his Guru, Sirshree. Mohit’s passion is Meditation, Heal and Help people and play “Bhi ta!” (Another form of Hide-&-Seek) with Krishna.
This entry was posted in See all Experiences by Mohit, See all Humor by Mohit, See all Stories by Mohit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Diplomatic side of Diplomacy!

  1. Rachana says:

    Hey dear dont tell people that boys are the only ones who are forced to answer every damn thing… Oh please stop that… anyways girls too are made to answer everything…. you are made to answer many questions only because you dont give the correct and the appropriate answer to the question asked you guys are use to beating the bush around. The day you start answering to the point you wont me asked too many questions….. and please speak the truth we girls are not mad to take any crap….

  2. mohitvalecha says:

    Hey Rachana,
    This is a humorous article dear.. THis is not written to list down features for boys or girls. An amusing one. Everybody has to answer certain things…Depends from time to time..
    If you laughed even once while reading the above article, then i have achieved my point..
    THanks for commenting..Keep giving feedbacks…

  3. Pingback: Yasir Walter

  4. Pingback: ebaywatchings

  5. xutil rglkcy edlufvt ginlfoh ukmftdajl dleipqhct svwkcn

  6. Wow, this is very fun to read. Have you ever considered submitting articles to magazines?

  7. Hey, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, superb blog!

Leave a Reply

